Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:02 p.m. - 08.13.2004
awkward silences
I went out to dinner with an old friend that I used to work with. We planned to meet somewhere all week since he's about to move to Florida and most likely I will never talk to him again.

So I decided we should meet at the mall and go to this restaurant there where you can draw on the paper tablecloths with crayons cause that's always fun. I told him to meet me at the sword and other cheapy Chinese imported stuff store, and when I got there, he was standing there with his girlfriend. Which is completely okay, but I just didn't know she was gonna be there.

Neither of them are very talkative, so there were like, oh... twelvdybillion awkward silences. Basically all I have in common with him is old stories from work, people from work, recent gossip about people from work, etc. So yeah, I knew this conversation probably made her want to stick icepicks in her eyes, so I tried to not only talk about that, but she wasn't really saying anything even when I'd ask her stuff, so I felt kinda bad. We did have a funny conversation about placenta eating, though.

It was just one of those situations where I know this guy and we have a lot of shared experiences from work, a lot of really stupid inside jokes and all that. And her, I have never met, and she's never known me to hang out with him since they've been together. So if I laughed too much with him, I didn't want her to think that I was trying to flirt or some crap, you know? So I tried to include her in the conversation and expain all the things we were talking about and it was just us basically telling her stories from work that we found hilarious and that she probably did not. It was just weird. I hate having to act differently around guy friends when their girlfriend is there because she might be psycho.

Anyway, so we planned to do something else (with Jake too) so that we can have an even more awkward grouping of antisocial personalities who don't know eachother. Then I can not only try to balance my conversation between her and the friend but between Jake too. Sweet.

.............................

I have a sinus cold. One side of my nose feels like there is a heart beating inside of it.

.............................

I still haven't decided if/when I'm going home to Illinois. Jake's camping this weekend, so I'll probably go when he gets back. There is a fair in Springfield where my brother is living now (he lives in Springfied, not at the fair). So I want to go and ride more rides! Yay!! I love rides. I hope they have that really cool scary one that was at the Oklahoma State Fair.

.............................

School doesn't start Friday like I thought. It starts on Monday the 23rd which makes much more sense. I am taking too many classes this semester I know it. I'm going to fail Russian.

.............................

Um. I have to go to the grocery store. Except that I'm hungry and I will spend to much money on future poop if I go. But I opened the snack cabinet just now and the only thing in it was "Spidey-Berry" flavored Pop Tarts which shouldn't fucking exist by the way, so that was the last straw.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!