Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:39 a.m. - 09.18.2004
reinforcing the hate
I just want to say that the whole political war between Repulicans and Democrats is completely retarded. I get almost all my news from the radio, and weirdly enough I tend to listen to Rush Limbaugh, Sean Hannity (sp?) Bill O'Reilly, etc. Those are just the most entertaining ones. I disagree wholeheartedly with much of what they say, but I guess that's why I listen. I don't want to be barraged with reasons why I should believe things I already believe. I want to hear the other side.

I'm liberal on most social issues, you know the ones the politicians talk about to play off of people's emotions. I mean, there are people out there who will vote exclusively based on what the candidate thinks about abortion. Yeah... so anyway, those kind of things... abortion, gay marriage, gays in the military, affirmative action, stem cell research, death penalty, assisted suicide (that issue isn't really around anymore, but damnit I think it's important!) etc. I'm totally liberal. BUT the only reason I am so-called "liberal" on those issues is because I don't make my decisions based on my religion.

Okay so what's my point? My point is that it's unfair that to be a Republican is so intertwined with being a religious fanatic. Why? Maybe I agree with some of what they say. Sometimes they seem much more reasonable in some respects, using logic rather than emotion to base policies on. (Other than those issues mentioned above where all logic is lost in favor of religion). Basically I could never be a Republican, because I wouldn't want to be associated with a group of people who make decisions based on their religion. The fact that our president is a born-again Christian, and therefore believes that I will burn in HELL for all eternity, bothers me much more than his motives for invading Iraq.

And the constant attempts to divide people even further by both sides. Yes, both sides are evil, John Kerry is evil, George Bush is evil. No they're not! They're just very ambitious guys who want to/became president. They try to do what they believe and they try to do what they need to do to get into a place where they can try to do what they believe.

I was listening to some liberal talk radio the other day, and it was just as bad as the conservative with all the hatefulness. He was going on and on about how George Bush was an alcoholic, he snorted coke, his wife sold pot in college, etc etc. What the hell? Even if all that was true, it wouldn't change my opinion. There are many things to dislike Bush for. But they are his policies, the way he believes our country should be run, etc. Not some bullshit he did 30 years ago. I don't give a flying crap if he snorted coke. Oooh, so he's a normal guy. Obviously he didn't go off the deep end and start giving guys head for heroin money so what's the problem?

And so what if John Kerry put in for purple hearts himself even if he wasn't wounded very badly. Anyone who actually believes that people in the military are there only to serve their country are sadly mistaken. They are people like everyone else, and they are also there to further their careers i.e. trying to get awards, trying to get promoted, trying to get every accolade they possibly can in order to stand out. At least the ambitious kiss-assy ones do that. And those are the ones who end up Generals, so what do you know? That's what you have to do if you want to get ahead. Kerry's motives might have been less than honorable, selfish. He may have simply joined the military to look good further down the road in his planned career in politics. And...? Tell me what an "honorable" reason would be for going for every award you can, for pumping up your performance reports that you have to do with utter bullshit so you can get promoted or get awards. EVERYONE IN THE MILITARY DOES THAT unless they are a total slacker and just don't care. In that case, they usually get out, because they realize they aren't phony enough to be in that environment. If you have ANY ambition in life whatsoever, you have to look out for yourself, you have to make things happen. That's what he did. It's what a lot of people do. So the hell what?

So what if Bush skipped out of the National Guard. Those guys are just weekend warriors anyway, they don't even count. Big deal, he quit faking being in the military to help his dad out. Scandalous.

The point is all this crap is just reinforcing the hate for the other guy, dividing us further. How is that productive? What is the goddamned point? I know they have their own agenda, they just want their man to win, but to resort to going back 30 years and pulling up some half-truths that aren't even very incriminating. It's pathetic.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!