Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 p.m. - 10.05.2004
so fucking superior
Why is everyone so crazy? I'm about to rant about the whole election thing again, so if you don't care, you might wanna go make yourself some chocolate milk instead of reading this. I recommend Chocolate Malt Ovaltine. Good and good for you! mmmmmm

I was talking to my mom on the phone earlier. She is not conservative at all... yet a big Bush supporter because she feels safer with him. And because she hates Kerry. So the vice-presidential debate was about to come on when I called her and then I was talking about debates in general... how the way they're executed makes them kind of irrelevant. You don't learn anything new and all their answers are scripted and many times the exact same scripted things they've already said in former speeches. Doesn't really change anyone's mind. I said they should have a meaner moderator to ask better questions... maybe? And then she immediately said "Well that would definitely make Kerry look bad, cause he has nothing to say. He doesn't even know where he stands."

I was just talking objectively about the debates, man. Damn. I know she hates Kerry, I know she loves Bush. I've had heated conversations with her about it before. Not because I even like Kerry all that much but she demonizes him - everything he does/has done/says is bad, and Bush is all good. I think that's just insane. How is that a productive way to make a judgement on who you're going to vote for when you look at the other guy with crap-colored glasses? She calls him an anti-war fag and makes fun of his looks, etc. Whatever. I gave up trying to make her see things objectively and not obsess over his protest of a war 30-whatever years ago. But she interjects nasty comments EVERY time the subject of the election or anything at all loosely related to Bush OR Kerry comes up in conversation. You can't even HAVE a conversation with her about it.

I like to be objective. Neither one of them is evil, that's just crazy if you think that. Crazy and ignorant. So I just ended the conversation after she started bashing Kerry with her fat cop boyfriend in the background (probably eating something fried and sweating profusely) backing her up to me while I'm talking to her ON THE PHONE because he's... well he's a whole different subject.

Anyway I was getting a little perturbed and I said "I can't even have a conversation with you, you're so hateful about it" and then of course she got upset with me and said "Oh YOU can say stuff but I can't?" and then I said "What did I say?" she said I said I hated Bush or something, which I DON'T and have NEVER said that I did. I didn't say a damn thing. I'm not about to debate that crap with her cause there is no purpose.

So when I said I didn't say anything bad about him in that conversation she said "You've made it very clear you hate him in the past" (which shouldn't matter in the current conversation anyway) and I told her that I didn't. I've never said that. But then she said I didn't actually SAY that, I just hinted at it. I told her I DON'T hate him at all, I have absolutely no hate for Bush. I disagree with him pretty vehemently on some issues and I certainly don't understand why we're in Iraq... but I don't HATE him. And I don't LOVE Kerry, either.

She just kept accusing me of being hypocritical and I'm allowed to say things but she isn't. She can't express her opinion, blah blah. But I didn't GIVE a damned opinion! The only reason she thinks I am for Kerry so much is because I have to play devil's advocate when she rants on and on about him bringing a video camera with him to Vietnam to document things and she thinks that is just an example of him trying to make himself look good and getting purple hearts he shouldn't have... and on and on. I tried to counteract her craziness with some rational objectivity (of which she has almost none in any situation where she feels anger) and phew... eventually she backs down and sees my point. Still sticks with her hateful point of view, but nevertheless - I so won the argument.

She always accuses me of thinking I'm "so fucking superior" to her but um... how can I not??

Just kidding. I don't think that. She definately has strengths I will never posess. But, god sometimes there is just no talking to her. She is so freakin irrational when she's mad. Grr. So yeah. Haven't had my mom yell at me in a while. Fun.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!