Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:23 p.m. - 09.24.2004
trailer-bound
My brother IS going to that school in Connecticut! Everyone else was discouraging him, but I was calling him almost every day asking about it, telling him he should do it no matter what they say. I told him that this whole ordeal with his girlfriend cheating on him, and them breaking up just another signal that he needed to do it. The way it happened, I mean everything just fell into place, set it into motion. It's awesome.

So now that he's not tied to her anymore, has no place really to stay back home except with mom - and nobody wants that - he had to do something. So he really did it. He drove his happy ass 18 hours to Connecticut yesterday. And this morning, he took this entrance exam, scored in the top 90%, got his dorm room, his student loans, and somehow managed to even get a job up there today. He doesn't start school til next month though, so he still has to come back and pack his stuff and all that. He just had to take that test first. I am soooo proud of him. He's going to feel so good about himself, that he's accomplishing something that will help him do what he really wants to in life.

Maybe I'm over-dramatizing going to a trade school, but hey it's a big deal for him. He dropped out of high school and was just an all around slacker for a while. He's only 20 though, so I guess I should have had more hope. But I didn't. I thought he was trailer-bound for sure. That's why I'm so happy about this.

I know my mom is really proud, now that she can say her kids are both in different states going to school. That must make her feel good.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!